Girls Varsity Swimming & Diving · Sammy Huff wins State Championship in 100 Breaststroke

  Place Points
Noblesville High School 16th 34

The Noblesville Millers advanced four events to the final day of the IHSAA State Finals and had to wait nearly the entire day to see Sammy Huff claim the State Championship in the 100 Yard Breaststroke.

The Millers had three events in the consolation races; the 200 Yard Medley Relay team finished in sixth, Huff finished the 200 Yard Individual Medley in third, and Caitlin Marshall finished the 100 Yard Butterfly in seventh.

In the championship race of the 100 Yard Breaststroke, Huff had to earn the title by narrowly defeating Franklin’s Kabria Chapman by 0.22 seconds after trailing Chapman by .04 seconds at the split. The top five in the event were separated by just 0.61 seconds.

In a post race interview with IHSAAtv, Huff said “just thinking about all the work I’ve done and how I’ve got to this point, it pushed me to just finish the race as hard as I could.”

Huff becomes the first Miller to win an individual state championship since Meghan Potee won One Meter Diving in 2010 and Huff is the first swimmer since Lacey Boutwell won the 100 Yard Freestyle in 2001.

Lacey Boutwell, 1998. 50 Yard Freestyle.
Lacey Boutwell, 1998. 100 Yard Freestyle.
Lacey Boutwell, 2001. 100 Yard Freestyle.
Katie Bittner, 2009. One Meter Diving.
Meghan Potee, 2010. One Meter Diving.
Sammy Huff, 2020. 100 Yard Breaststroke.

200 Yard Medley Relay (Consolation Heat): 6th (6 points), Jordan Cooley, Sammy Huff, Caitlin Marshall, Abby Harvey 1:48.46
200 Yard Individual Medley (Consolation Heat): 3rd (6 points), Sammy Huff 2:06.26
100 Yard Butterfly (Consolation Heat): 7th (2 points), Caitlin Marshall 57.76
100 Yard Breaststroke (Championship Heat): State Champion (20 points), Sammy Huff 1:02.87