Hall of Fame Class of 2014

Individuals and Teams from the 1970’s

JIM BELDEN (1967-79)

Belden compiled a 96-38 record and won seven Sagamore Athletic Conference championships as the Noblesville varsity football head coach. His football teams were ranked #1 in 2A in both the 1978 and the 1979 seasons. The 1979 Millers completed the regular season undefeated and ended the season as the 1979 Class 2A State Runner-up.

Basketball, Track & Field

Chesser was a three-year basketball starter who led the Millers as a senior to their first sectional championship in 18 years. He was All-County and All-Conference and was named the Noblesville Ledger Athlete of the Year. He scored 42 points against Hamilton Southeastern as a senior to set a new school record for most points in a single game. Chesser had 965 career points and 521 career rebounds. He was also an outstanding Track & Field athlete.


As a journalist, Don has covered Noblesville High School sports for over 50 years. His reporting has given recognition to the accomplishments of countless Noblesville High School student-athletes.


Coach Nicholson was the Miller basketball coach from 1975 to 1991. He compiled a 255-114 record and won eight sectionals. The 1984 team finished the regular season undefeated and won conference and sectional championships. He was named Indiana District III Coach of the Year three times during his tenure at NHS. Dave is a member of the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame and the Hamilton County Basketball Hall of Fame.


Reel was named 1st Team All-State at running back in football as a junior after rushing for 1,139 yards, which set the school record at the time. He broke both NHS and Hamilton County rushing records with 2,662 career yards. He is the 3rd all-time leading rusher in Noblesville Football history.

12-1 Record, State Runner-Up
Undefeated 10-0 Regular Season

Head Coach: Jim Belden
Assistant Coaches: Bruce Hitchcock, Tim Leonard, John Niemeyer, Phil Shelby.
Head Trainer: Susan Ramsey
Trainers: Gary Higginbotham, Stephen Ward.
Team Members: Murray Beaver, Bryan Bilbrey, Glenn Birge, Jay Boser, Mark Brim, Billy Britton, Brian Buchanan, Chuck Budnick, Jim Camp, Eric Cannaday, John Carter, Doug Chapman, Frank Chiprean, Scott Cochran, Mike Dailey, Russ Daley, Mike Davis, Paul Davis, Chris Dell, Jeff Dent, Bryan Dickey, James Effinger, Michael Evans, Chris Finnegan, Jon Ford, Scott Fox, Mike Fraze, Charles Fugate, John Galloway, Kent Gossard, Grady Hall, Trent Hall, Gregory Harber, Tommy Harber, Tim Higgins, Steve Hood, Stanley Horn, Jon Houghtalen, Todd Howard, Brian Jacoby, David Jones, David Kuykendall, Tim Leonard, Jeb Lorton, John Marcum, Pete Mariani, Mike Marsh, David Miller, Geoffrey Miller, Kent Mills, William Mitchell, Ken Money, Mark Morton, Troy Mullins, Ricky Myers, Lance Nolan, Chris Padgett, Darryl Patrick, Ken Pickett, Mike Randall, Doug Reid, Mike Rheinheimer, Dane Rowland, Robert Rushforth, Randy Schneider, Tom Schwab, Kent Shelby, Mike Stark, Tim Stark, Stuart Tomlinson, Tom Vernon, Robert Webb, Ronald Webb, Brice Wright.

1979 Noblesville Millers Football Team